Our Team

The Texas Botanical Gardens and Native American Interpretive Center has assembled a gifted project team and a diverse group of advisors to guide the creation of a community cultural and educational facility that serves as a model for green construction and presents an array of interactive exhibits offering visitors an authentic and unparalleled museum experience.

Board of Directors

Tommy Head

Vice President
Haverde Warner

Elita Witty, EA

Executive Director Emeritus
Janice Fischer


Sherrill Duren
Suzanne Smith

Archaeology Steward
Del Barnett

Executive Director
Susan Lindsey

Board Members

Suzann Garner
Pat Gustafson
Hazel McCoy
Melissa Sturdivant
Phil Duren
Ramona Flores
Carol Graves

Julio Aguilar
Jeannie Rollo
Ralph Ynosotrosa
Dean Thorpe
Brody Stacy
Debbie Andrews
Margaret Adams Medeley

Project Team

Robert Jackson
Jackson and McElhaney Architects, Inc.

Drew Patterson
Exhibit Designer, Drew Patterson Studios

Scooter Cheatham
Landscape Designer and Ethnobotanist, Useful Wild Plants

Tab Ledbetter
Landscaper, Looking Out Design, LLC

Robert Gaeke
Gaeke Construction Company

Architectural Engineers Collaborative
Structural Engineers

Love and Briley Engineering, Inc.
MEP Engineers

Project Advisors

Karen Fort
Senior Exhibit Coordinator, National Museum of the American Indian

Emil Her Many Horses
Curator, National Museum of the American Indian

Dan Potter
Regional Archaeologist, Texas Historical Commission

Dr. Grant Hall
Consulting Archeologist